In honour of the late Donna Mary Shaw, who was dedicated to advancing association management and the mentoring of youth, this award assists emerging professionals wishing to pursue careers in the not-for-profit sector.

Up to six individuals may win in any given year*:

  • Two from British Columbia, Yukon, Nunavut, Northwest Territories, Alberta, Saskatchewan and/or Manitoba
  • Two from Ontario
  • Two from Québec and/or Atlantic Canada

*Please note that prize distribution is determined by Statistics Canada’s latest estimated population size.

CSAE members may nominate any promising emerging non-profit staff from within their professional network. As the nominator, you commit to mentoring the young professional for a period of one year while CSAE will support the award recipient with professional development and networking opportunities.

Donna Mary Shaw Award recipients receive any two of the following:

  • CSAE Membership
  • CAE Course
  • A registration for a national event/seminar
  • One registration to the CSAE Conference and Showcase
  • Mentorship for one year from their nominator

(Prizes can be claimed up to 12 months following receipt of the award.)

Eligibility Criteria

Nominator must:

  • Be an active CSAE Executive or Business member and maintain CSAE membership during the year the award recipient receives his or her prizes
  • Submit no more than one nomination per year
  • Commit to providing the recipient with mentorship throughout the year

Nominee must:

  • Be employed in a full-time capacity within the not-for-profit sector
  • Have worked in the not-for-profit sector for a minimum of one year and no longer than 5 years
  • Maintain their non-profit employment status in the year following their award in order to claim their prizes

All documents must be submitted through the online application process. The online submission can be edited until the submission deadline. Please submit any questions to

Past Recipients

2019 – Svitlana Nechyporenko, Jamie Ricci
2018 – Nzinga Brown, Emily Banzet 
2017 – Sarah McIntosh, Urvashi Ramsoondar
2016 – Courtney Thack, Julia Chehaiber
2014 – Maddy Marchildon, Natalie Wallace
2013 – Jessica Bedford 
2012 – Nicole Maurice, Maria Galati 
2011 – Cayla Ireland 
2010 – Kenny Chan
2009 – Silvia Eliçagaray, Sarah Vaughan, Karin Hedetniemi, Paul Jones Mubanga
2008 – Jasmin Lidington
2007 – Christiane Dowsing
2005 – Kelly Allbright, Sheila Lennon 
2004 – Sandy Leske, Hélène Samson
2003 – Jeffrey Hanlan; Dawn Kelly; Carol S. Law; Wendy Skinner

Our Partners

Our partners are best in class companies that deliver quality products and/or services to the association sector – click below to see for yourself!