• The Griner Award recipient can be an individual or an organization whose contributions reflect the enhancement of association management and/or CSAE’s profile and organizational effectiveness.

    This award is named in honour of the late John Griner, CAE.

    Eligibility Criteria

    • Individual nominee:
      • Has been a CSAE member for at least five years
      • Has contributed as a volunteer for CSAE at the local and/or national levels
    • Organizational nominee:
      • Has maintained a CSAE membership for one or more employees for at least five years
      • Has contributed the application of innovative solutions to support association management, participation within CSAE events, and support of the association industry
      • Has contributed to the association sector beyond the expectations of daily business
    • Self-nominations are ineligible
    • Current Awards and Recognition Committee members are ineligible

    Submission Requirements

    • Nominee information
    • Nominee’s Record of Achievements
    • Current CV / Link to LinkedIn Profile (for individual nominee) or detailed outline of the organization (for organizational nominee)
    • Two letters of Support/Testimonials (letters must not be from the nominator)
    • Narrative (250-500 words) explaining why the nominee is deserving of this Award

    How to Submit an Application

    CAE® Continuous Professional Development (CPD): Credit is granted to the nominator for a complete award’s application. Individual Awards (i.e., Leadership, Ottawa-Gatineau, and Trillium)
    Based on 0.5 hour per complete award nomination (maximum 2 hours per two-year reporting period).

    Past Recipients

    2022 – Thomas Kriens, Kriens-LaRose LLP Chartered Accountants
    2021 – Marion Tripp, The Talent Company
    2018 – Randall Craig, 108 ideaspace
    2014 – Hester Whatman
    2012 – Robert Thompson, MediaEdge Publishing Inc.
    2011 – Norman Jessop, Centre des congrès de Québec
    2010 – Huw Williams, Impact Public Affairs
    2009 – Theresa Beenken, National Speakers Bureau
    2006 – William Pashby, Borden Ladner Gervais LLP
    2005 – Susan Saganski, Delta Hotels
    2004 – Pierre Normandin, Gatineau Outaouais Tourism Hotels
    2001 – Andrew Stamper, Conventional Solutions
    2000 – Ralph Strachan, Stronco Group of Companies
    1999 – Yvan Jérome, caé
    1998 – Sal Farrauto, HECFI
    1997 – Jacques Drury, Canadian Airline International
    1996 – John Meissner, Canadian Pacific Hotels
    1995 – ITT Sheraton Canada
    1994 – Delta Hotels & Resorts
    1993 – Maurice Bleau, ITT Sheraton Canada
    1992 – Martin J. Copeland, Audio Archives International, Inc.
    1991 – Reginald Watts, Stratquest Group Ltd.
    1990 – Réjean (Ray) Proulx, Air Canada & April Taylor, Taylor & Associates
    1989 – W.F. Morneau, W.F. Morneau & Associates
    1988 – Westin Hotels & Resorts
    1986 – Hilton International

    E-News Archives

    Our Partners

    Our partners are best in class companies that deliver quality products and/or services to the association sector – click below to see for yourself!